Getting the results (Clomid)..

I finally got a call back on my results! It is really great news and slightly disappointing at the same time. The nurse said that my glucose levels look great and that all my hard work is paying off.—I’m SO happy to hear that. I struggle with how I have to eat. To most people they are like….it’s just a diet….BUT to me this way of eating is extremely important in relation to my fertility. No I’m not over weight and I’ve never been, but the way I was eating 4 months ago was causing my insulin resistance to flare up and throw off my entire body. When I commit to anything, I fully commit, so eating a diet low in sugar, means eating a diet with basically almost no sugar/ low GI and only splurging occasionally. It is incredibly hard to stick to such a strict diet with no pasta, no potato, no white rice, no sweets, no white bread, no soda, ect. BUT I have accomplished it! Now if I have anything with a lot of sugar, it’s overwhelming to me and doesn’t taste good at all. Sometimes I get sad about how I have to eat but now that they’ve said it is working, I feel so much more empowered to keep doing it!

Back to my results….. so now that my glucose is under control, they asked me if I wanted to keep trying on my own or try Clomid……SERIOUSLY? what kind of question is that…..I have to get a little annoyed here because I have a PROBLEM—PCOS/insulin resistance, and if I were able to conceive on my own it would have happened over a year ago…..I’ve already told them that I’m still not ovulating correctly so why even ask me that. Basically all I said to her was we want to try Clomid. This is where it gets frustrating: They knew that I was wanting to try Clomid before I even got my blood glucose checked on Friday/ I also got AF that day….Apparently I cannot try Clomid until next cycle due to them not being able to draw my E2 and FSH levels on day 3 of my cycle—day 3 for me was Sunday so they would have drawn them yesterday because they were closed Sunday….but they didn’t offer….they said I have to wait :/ . I’m just a little disappointed that I have to wait another month but then again I’m like I’m used to it because that’s all I do is wait/waste more time! Oh well, everything happens for a reason.I love how they have to tell me about the chance of conceiving multiples on this medication….I’m over here like I’ll take what I can get! If I had one baby or twins I’d be ecstatic that I can even conceive a child. This month I guess we will continue to try on our own for some slim chance of a miracle. I am glad though that they take labs multiple times while you’re on Clomid to check on everything….which is reassuring to me because I don’t like taking any type of medication. I know I shouldn’t be disappointed about having to wait a cycle because it could have been worse and I could have gotten results that didn’t allow me to take it. Now, I have new things to worry about—FSH levels and all that which I haven’t researched yet so I don’t even know what’s good or bad.

Now I get to stare at my 10 Clomid pills sitting on my counter waiting for me to take them next cycle 🙂

If anyone has taken Clomid, could you explain to me what the FSH levels mean? It is kinda confusing how they explained it in the email to me! Plus any advice about this medication would be great!

5 thoughts on “Getting the results (Clomid)..

  1. FSH and AMH assess your egg quality and quantity. I found out my FSH was way too high and AMH was almost undetectable which essentially showed my ovaries were about kaput. I did the test before I started any fertility treatments, which kept us to trying IUI (one with Femara, one with Bravelle) only twice before going straight to IVF (we used donor eggs). I’m so glad I got both of these tested so I could make more qualified decisions based on science rather than emotions, as after hearing I had less than 1% chance of getting pregnant, we moved quickly. lt still took 4 tries with DEIVF, but we are now 8 1/2 weeks pregnant and crossing our fingers it will sustain.

    Thinking good thoughts for you and best wisdom I can share is to keep advocating for yourself, learning beyond what the doctor’s office says and asking LOTS of questions. Best of luck…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment